Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PC Shutdown while playing the Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

PC Shutdown while playing the Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

I have to say that so far I like the game. However, within 24 hours or less since I started playing, twice my computer has spontaneously turns off while I was in the game. No "started off", but "BAM", closed without notice in a blink of an eye. I've had this computer for two and a half years without finding a problem, and since the beginning of today Skyrim suspect is the cause. Any idea what might be causing this? I worry that my PC can damage it if it continues.

Re: PC Shutdown while playing the Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Something in the hardware must be overheating, could be the GPU or CPU, check your temperature. And make sure that the temperature is correct for the processor you are using.

You and I, and at least 2 people are having this problem. I can play Crysis to GTA4, both far more demanding and have not stopped, so I know it's not a hardware failure. That cannot be a coincidence

Quote Originally Posted by Jung View Post
    You and I, and at least 2 people are having this problem. I can play Crysis to GTA4, both far more demanding and have not stopped, so I know it's not a hardware failure. That cannot be a coincidence
    When you are troubleshooting you cannot give an answer like this. Download MSI Afterburner and Coretemp and prepare a report with its highs after a session of play. Also be sure to send your CPU / GPU and the type of power they have. I've never seen a hard shutdown (no blue screen) that is not caused by overheating, a power failure or lack of RAM. Driver issues, and basically anything that touches Skyrim may translate into a blue screen at worst. I'm not saying it is not Skyrim, but it probably is, so that all closures to get the report of the CPU / GPU temps after playing if they realize the issue, including technical specifications of the system (including and power supply company).