Thread: The hidden truth of Zynga poker

The hidden truth of Zynga poker

Hi all, I have been playing Zynga poker for a couple of years, and I am disturbed by the numbers that I have been comparing in this game. The games itself may truly be rigged due to these numbers. I have played 36,000 hands (seen the flop). Assuming I folded 4 out of 5 hands pre-flop (and that's on the high side), that makes 180,000 total hands. Now, out of those hands, I have hit 3 Royal Flushes. Never in my life have I hit a Royal Flush with real cards, and here's why: the probability of hitting a royal flush in Texas Hold 'em .

Re: The hidden truth of Zynga poker

So, how is it possible that I've hit 3 Royal Flushes in 180,000 hands, if the game is not fixed??? I should not have gotten ONE, let alone three and there are many others I've seen whose best hands are Royal Flushes and they have played much less than 650,000 hands. What's more, I had a K-high and a Q-high Straight Flush before the 3 Royal Flushes. This is as good as hard evidence that the game is rigged, because actually hitting over 5 Straight Flushes in 200,000 hands seen is unheard of.

There are a number of problems with this post, and I'd like to take a moment to point out a couple of them. First, you'll want to double check your math. The odds of hitting a royal flush in holdem is only 30,939 to 1. flopping a royal flush is a 649,739 to 1 shot - mainly because most starting hands are incapable of doing this. Second, 30,939 to 1 odds doesn't mean you're going to hit exactly one royal flush in 30,940 hands. That's not how probability works. Any kind of meaningful analysis requires a sample of hands large enough for standard deviation to at least begin to converge, and you are definitely nowhere near that number.