Thread: Ping Issues in Counter Strike Source

Ping Issues in Counter Strike Source

Hello there, I have a desktop computer which is installed with Windows XP PRO on it. I am a regular Counter Strike player and I used to play Counter Strike 1.6. Recently I started playing Counter Strike Source and I am facing some problems with it. Whenever I play Counter Strike Source online I get high ping and latency. All my friends connect to the same server with low latencies but I get latency around 150+. I dont know how to reduce the PING and hence I cannot play online. I use Garena client to play Counter Strike Source online. So if anybody else is facing Ping Issues in Counter Strike Source then please suggest some solutions. Also I want to know how to play online using Steam. Thanks in advance.

Re: Ping Issues in Counter Strike Source

Online gaming requires lot of data transfer at faster rate which requires Fast Internet connection. Check if your Internet connection is fast enough to play games online. If the net connection is slow then you are bound to get high latencies as the link will not be able to transfer the data at high speed. Check the link if it is good for online gaming by visiting websites like Speedtest and Pingtest and check the grade. If the link is not good for gaming then you will not be able to play online.

The online performance of the game highly depends on the location of the server from the client. If the host is at some remote place then naturally the ping and latency would be high. Try to connect to a server which is closer from the area which you are playing and then check the latency and the pings. I dont think the latency and ping would be high if you play on the server which is closer to the place from where you are playing.