Thread: Permanently saving internet settings on Linux

Permanently saving internet settings on Linux

I had recently installed Ubuntu Linux on my system. I was happy with the functions and features for the same. In that there is a function called Ethernet to configure the net connection. I have a two operating systems on my system. The first one is Windows and when I boot back in Linux I found that my settings are lost every time. Why this happens. My friend has did the settings and I am completely new to Linux. I need help to save those settings permanently on my system so that they do not get wipe off again and again whenever I boot or whenever there is some kind of changes in system.

Re: Permanently saving internet settings on Linux

There is really no reason behind what is going on your system. Basically what I know when you are online Linux system can automatically read the interface of your router and configures settings. By manual it is just an piece of case. You just need your internet access information and ip and that's it, but manual configuration you can setup internet in your system. The configuration of the Ethernet interface uses the same tools and the same methods as the Loopback interface.

There are currently several devices and Internet technologies which can help a linux system to work over internet. The configuration depends largely on both the hardware and the drivers. And then it depend on the same measure of the network topology is available or if it is a single computer. So for that it is important that you must know something about internet settings. If you try to configure the same just like that, then again the issue will occur.