Thread: "Cookies are blocked" pop up on Firefox

"Cookies are blocked" pop up on Firefox

Hi, i am new to community and found it really effective. Thanks to you all guys.. This is my first and hope you all guys can help me for sure..

I am a Windows Xp user and am new for Firefox as well. Before this i was using Internet Explorer 6. Now with Firefox sometimes when i visit any website i got a pop up message saying "cookies are blocked". I am just not able to open those particular page or website. What is meant by this? Please help me out to fox this error ?

Help appreciated.!

Re: "Cookies are blocked" pop up on Firefox

Hi and well come to Techarena, mate. Cookie is an important thing that is used while browsing with any of the browser. It is an information stored on your computer by a website you visit. It stores information including personally identifiable information and settings for a website, such as your preferred language or location. That can be useful when you return to the site as Firefox sends back the cookies that belong to the site.

Anyways, to fox this out, i'll suggest you to set your Firefox browser to not accept cookies and to do is you need to turn on the cookies. Here is how to do that:-

• Open Firefox and click on the Tools menu, and select Options.
    • Select the Privacy panel and set Firefox will: to Use custom settings for history.
    • Mark the check box for Accept cookies from sites.
    • Also make sure Accept third party cookies is check marked.
    • Now Click Exceptions and make sure the site you're trying to access isn't listed.
    • If it is listed, click on its entry, then click Remove Site.

Thats it...

I was also facing this problem with my Firefox 3.5 some couple of weeks ago. While work around i found that the cause was temporary data stored on my computer. I just deleted cookies and temporary data and the problem was fixed. Hope this can work for you as well. In order to delete cookies and temporary data try this steps:-