Thread: Good programming language for making security tools

Good programming language for making security tools

Which is the best language for pc security tools. I am studying C programming language. I had kept a list of other languages like Python, Java, etc to earn more specialization. I want to know which is a good programming language for designing security tools. Like anti-virus, scanners, etc. On which language are they made on.

Re: Good programming language for making security tools

It actually depends on the platform. If you are willing to work on Windows and design tools for it, then going for C++ is far more better. Other than there are more languages which work on more core levels. Software development is different while working on security protocol is another different thing.

What I know that whatever language who learn, you must have ability to switch from one to another on the base of requirement. This will give you a boost in future. Like if you are working on C and gained a good experience in that then you can try out JAVA or other happening language in current time.This will help you to gain a better qualification in future. For security purpose I think mostly Python is used.

I had seen a small development office which works on firewall. They write code on Python to control the hardware. You have to deal with some research in-order to gain a good knowledge. Because security is a bit complicated concept. There are many new things which involve daily. Take example of a virus. In which code they are written and how they spoil the system. You can study on that and you will came to know about the different languages used here. If you go for ethical hacking course from a reputed institution you will surely gain a good amount of knowledge.