Thread: Layout manager for Swing Components in JAVA

Layout manager for Swing Components in JAVA

Hello friends , I am a student studying in the final year , i have a project this year ,first I was coding my project in the VB.net , I was successfully able to create the GUI of the project and all the required forms , but later on in the coding part it came up with some errors in it , so I switched my language and opted Java instead . I was being assured by my elder that it will be wise to use Java language , I have created the GUI but do not how to use the layout of my swing components , please help in this subject as it is taking me a lot of time.

Re: Layout manager for Swing Components in JAVA

There are a lots of layout manager available, it depends upon the type of components you use in your program , if you are using the simple buttons and text boxes , it is advisable that you use the flow layout , or else you can use the Border layout as well . But I do not know why many people now a days make use of Null layout, in which they pass the x and y co-ordinates of the of the components in order to place them in the exact location.

A layout manager is an object that generally deplyes and implements the LayoutManager interface and decides the size and location of the components inside a container. Although components can give size and position hints, a container's layout manager has the concluding say on the size and location of the components inside the container.