Thread: How are subqueries different from Joins queries in SQL ?

How are subqueries different from Joins queries in SQL ?

I am a student studying in the second year of my BSC(IT) course , I want to be an administrator in the field of database or you can say that I want to DBA , I am quite capable of doing the simple queries in the SQL language , but I get quite confused when it comes to querying multiple tables , I get confused that what should I use instead ? Should I use joins or make use of Subqueries . Please guide me what is the actual difference between those two .

Re: How are subqueries different from Joins queries in SQL ?

Subquery or Inner query or sometimes also called as Nested query is a query that is present inside a query. A subquery is generally added in the WHERE Clause of the SQL statement. The majority of the time, a subquery is used while you are aware that how to search for a value making use of a SELECT statement, but do not exactly know the value.Subqueries are is an other method of returning data from multiple tables.

A subquery is a also a query like a normal one but it is nested within a SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, or DELETE statement or within an additional subquery. A subquery can go again a set of rows or only one tuple to its outer query. A scalar subquery is a query that returns precisely single value: a solitary row, with a solitary column. Scalar subqueries can be used in nearly all places in a SQL statement where you may possibly make use of an expression or a literal value.