Thread: How can you make a private data member inheritable in C++

How can you make a private data member inheritable in C++

I am a software programmer by profession , although I am a web designer by profession , I have learned a bit of web developing languages such as PHP , HTML, XML, since I had chosen web development when I was asked for the electives in my college days, but I am trying to do a bit of development as to earn myself a bit of extra earning, So I started with the C++ language , since I have already learned C language and wanted to brush some basics of C++, but I forgot few things in it , can any one please tell me how can I inherit the private data , I would ask you people to comment on this , and I will appreciate if any programmer or developer replies comment on this question, waiting for your response.

Re: How can you make a private data member inheritable in C++

C++ inheritance is very alike to a parent-child association. When a class is deriving all the methods and data member are derived , although not all of them will be available by the member functions of the child class. But there are some exceptions for this case as well. It is a well known actuality that the private and protected members are not reachable outside the class. But a base class is given access to protected members of the parent class.

Yes I too think that way so I have made a list . Some of those exceptions prominent in C++ inheritance are given below :

• The constructor and destructor of a parent class are not subject to inheritance.
    • The assignment operator also cannot be inherited.
    • there are some special functioned normally named as friend functions/ methods and classes named as friend classes of the parent class, these functions and classes also cannot be inherited.
    • There are few facts to be pondered about C++ inheritance.