Thread: How does ?: Conditional operator in C# operate

How does ?: Conditional operator in C# operate

I am a student on IT student studying in a well reputed college in mumbai. My graduation course comprises of six semesters and I have to clear each semester with 50 % marks in each and every semester , if I fail in any of the two subjects i.e score less than 50% of marks in any two subjects then I will not be promoted to the next year. I have learned and memorized all the the subjects but I am quite concerned about the C# language , I am quite weak at it , and I am quite weak in the Conditional operators. I just wanted to know about the ?: Conditional operator in C# and about their operation , I will be so glad if any developer or programmer comments on this.

Re: How does ?: Conditional operator in C# operate

The ?: operator is known as the conditional operator. It is sometime also known as the ternary operator. It normally comprises of
    conditional-expression: and along with that it contains null-coalescing-expression it can be expressed as given below
    • null-coalescing-expression ? expression : expression

If there is any conditional expression then it can be in the form b ? x : y first calculates the condition b. Then, checks if b is true, x is calculated and becomes the answer of the expression. or else, y is calculated and becomes the answer of the expression. A conditional expression never calculates both x and y. This operators can thus be used in case of if-else statements.

The conditional operator is right-associative, that implies that expressions are arrayed from in the order from right to left. [for instance : An expression of the form m ? n : o ? p : q is evaluated as m ? n : (o ? p : q).