Thread: static methods in object oriented programming

static methods in object oriented programming

I am a student of Third year , I have subjects like SQL, ERP , implementation , Supply chain management and Customer relationship management and programming languages like Core JAVA and C# in my third year, although my third year has just began but still it is one of the important year of my career , I have my unit test on my head the upcoming week, however one concept in my C# subject is not clear and and that is the static data members, it was covered there in the Core Java last semester , so it will be of much more help if you could provide of necessary information. I would appreciate if any programmer or developer replies .

Re: static methods in object oriented programming

Static data members are those data members which are referred without the reference of any object. The scope of any static data member is not restricted to any particular object. Like a normal variable , which is accessed with the help of a dot operator , it does not happen at all with these static data member, they are directly referred or called with the class name.

A C# class can enclose both static and non-static data members. When we initiate a member and make the use of the keyword static, it produces a static member. This type of data member does not belong to any object but rather belong to the class Therefore static data members are also known as class data members and non-static data members are called as instance members.Bear in mind that indexers in C# can't declared as static and if you do not mention the keyword static then it is by default non static.