Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Sponsored Links

Different statements in SQL query

Software Development

Old 14-12-2010

Different statements in SQL query

I am a student of Computer Science, right now I am pursuing a degree course. I am looking forward to a Data base Administrator , so I want to make my my query knowledge thorough , but I am very weak at it and I do not have much idea about the basic query as well, so I would appreciate if you could get some hint about the statements being used in the SQL queries.

Old 14-12-2010

Re: Different statements in SQL query

SQL is a structured Query language that is used for fetching for the data that is stored in a database, the data base is a relational database which as a designed schema , schema in the sense the database is in the tabular format and is identified by an entity name. And these queries can be used to fetch the data from the relational data . The most basic statement in the SQL language is Select statement.
Old 14-12-2010

Select statement is used to fetch the result for the query being made in the select statement , as these table contain different columns and one of the column contains unique data called as the primary key of the table. So you can fetch the record by specifying the name of the column next to the select statement.
Old 14-12-2010

Apart from the Select statement, there are a few basic statements such as Where and From as well. Suppose you want to fetch a data of a student whose marks exceed more than 60 from the student table, then you can give the query and in the Select statement you will write the you will write the column name student name and marks in the from clause there will be the table name as student and in the Where clause you will specify the condtition as marks should be greater than 60.
Old 09-03-2011

SQL query

Hi all,