Thread: Programming in Android, problem of inheritance and object handling

Programming in Android, problem of inheritance and object handling

I have several years of experience developing for Windows Mobile through the Compact Framework. But still I am struggling with the transition to Android. In modern programming languages and when I include C++ I am used to transmit object references around the program for use or modification of data. The Android is not as easy. Each screen inherits from Activity. The only way to provide input to an Activity is through an Intent object which can add a Primitives as string, int, double, bool, etc. This goes against everything I have been trained in computer programming. If I edit an object in a dialogue I submit the item and change the dialogue. The object may of course contain several sub-items to be opened in the dialogues, etc. This is impossible in Android. Nor that I will open a dialogue and the DialogResult OK so I will for example return a new object of any type through a property or something. Often I build, for example, up dialogue and put providers etc with the DI (Dependency Injection), which also is impossible here. The only way I am in a reasonable way to share resources etc in the program to be living the "runtime" to close the program is through to have a Singleton "service provider" that can retain the services I need. This can not solve many of the problems I describe earlier. Someone who has experience in Android, with the idea why they have done as they have done and how you possibly have solved these problems? Have searched and read some of this around and see many struggling with the same things as me. But no one has a good solution on how to create larger heavier applications that are not on TicTacToe level. In Windows Mobile, I have built a program of 150,000+ lines of code and 150+ dialogues and does not know how I'm going to build similar complexity on Android.