Thread: Efficient memory usage with iterators in Python

Efficient memory usage with iterators in Python

I'm completely new to Python. I have recently read the below three points about iterators:
    1. An iterator is "non-destructive", ie you can not change the data structure as it loops through the iterator itself. They can therefore be used to make data "read only". Another way of saying this is: An iterator is "one way", data can be retrieved, but not submitted.

2. An iterator has consciousness - ie, it knows and remembers where the last in the sequence was. You do not need to keep track of an index.

3. An iterator is often memory-efficient. A typical example is the huge files. Let's say you have a log file on 1GB. The code to read this file will eat up your memory. But by looping over the file object via the built-in iterator it will never use more memory than every single line.

Coming to the point: Here is the code I'm working with:

Code:
    # Open the webdocument with The First 10,000 Primes, read the file and print the content. It functions for Python version 2.5, But Not for version 3.1.2
    # import urllib
    file = urllib . urlopen ( 'http://primes.utm.edu/lists/small/10000.txt' )
    primes = file . read ()
    print ( primes )
    Code:
    # Brute force prime number and prime number calculation twin. There ar no security net, exception
    # action in the code. Note That all twin prime except (3, 5) are of the form: (nx6) + / - 1  

print('This prgram is only valid for the natural number Between 1 and 1700')
    print()
    primed= [3,5,7,11,13,17,19,23,29,31,37,41,43,47,53,59,61,67,71,73,79,83,89,97,101] # Python list inbuilt
    import math # import math module
    n = int(input ('Enter a natural number Between 1 and 1700:'))
    m1 = n*6 - 1
    m2 = n*6 + 1
    print()
    limit=int(math.ceil(math.sqrt(m2))) + 1 # Ceiling of square root of number + 1
    bool1=1
    for the prime in prime: # Loop through the list of known prime.