Thread: How can I compile in Linux what I have done in Windows (Visual Studio)

How can I compile in Linux what I have done in Windows (Visual Studio)

I am not a Linux expert and many of its things are new to me. This is the reason why I use Windows for my normal operation which might involve coding and then, if required, I experiment it on Linux. However, the problem here is that I am not able to compile, or might be I have not done it properly, in Linux. It was created in Visual Studio under Windows platform, and there the problem lies I suppose. I have Intel compiler and so I think the file created in Visual Studio should work in both the operating system. However I don't know how to get things work out. Please me in this matter !

Re: How can I compile in Linux what I have done in Windows (Visual Studio)

The only solution to your problem is Cygwin. It has a Linux-like environment for Windows and consists of two parts: a DLL (cygwin1.dll) to act as a Linux API emulation layer providing substantial Linux API functionality; and a collection of tools which provide Linux look and feel.

There are 3 options to get this. Cgywin, Knoppix, or Vmware/Virtual PC. However, if you ask me personally which to go for, I think Cygwin is somewhat difficult to use and may not have all the Libs. And, thus, running linux on a partition along with windows is very much helpful.

Although the compiler is the same (i.e. Intel), you will find a lot of differences between Windows and Linux when it comes to compiling. The two of them have difference in source and binary. For instance, you use __declspec on Windows* whereas you would use __attribute__ on Linux* for certain compiler extensions. The ABI will also differ in both the cases which allows the compiler to produce the result.