Go Back   TechArena Community > Software > Software Development
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Old 25-07-2010

How to create an executable jar?

I have recently started doing an advanced Java coding, so I am not having much knowledge about it. I want to create an executable java archive. Since, I am new to this topic, I am not having any idea about it. Then I thought to take some assistance from you members because you explain the things very clearly. . Please help me in solving my problem. The only thing I want to know now is how to create an executable jar? Any sample coding would be much grateful.!!
Old 25-07-2010

Re: How to create an executable jar?

Firstly, you should create a Manifest file. This file will contain the name of the class to run and archives to put in the CLASSPATH.

Code:
Manifest - Version: 1 . 0 Created - By: 1 . 4 .1_01 (Sun Microsystems Inc.) Main - Class: Start Class - Path: . / archive1.jar . / archive2.jar
We call the MANIFEST.MF file and it will be placed in a directory called META-INF in the application root (for example). The jar archive of the classpath will not be included in this jar, but will be located subsequently in the same directory that we create (or in a well-defined path). If they are to be stored in a directory it will suffice to give the path:

Code:
Class-Path: path1/archive1.jar path2/archive2.jar
Old 25-07-2010

To create the jar must already deleted all .Java files. The ideal is to copy all. Class (with their tree if they are packaged) in a temporary directory to create the jar in this directory. You can also copy the files to be accessible in the jar (pictures) if any. The command to create a file .Jar is as follows :
jar cvfm file-jar file-manifest files...

That is the meaning of different parameters:
  • jar-file: is the name of the jar to create
  • file-evident: MANIFEST.MF file