Thread: What is the difference between Distinct and DistinctRow?

What is the difference between Distinct and DistinctRow?

I am new to this database field of queries and started learning how to make the queries for retrieving the data from the table. I have also learned that there many way for getting the same kind of data. Now I having the problem with the types of queries that are
    Select Distinct
    And the other one is
    Select Distinct Row
    These two thing looks similar to me but there might be a difference in retrieving the data. If there is a difference between the two then can anybody tell me what is the actual difference between the two. I will be waiting for the related replies.

Re: Details of Distinct query

See I can explain you the meaning of the distinct queries. Distinct queries omits the fields that comprise of the duplication fields in the fields data which are selected by the user. If the user want the result of SELECT query to have the distinct field or the not repeated fields data then the user can use the select query with distinct option. Means if the user having the request for finding the result with the not repeated result then this requirement can be fulfilled with the help of this SELECT DISTINCT query.

Re: What is the difference between Distinct and DistinctRow?

DISTINCTROW option in the SELECT query is used when the search is based on the entire records not for the specific fields. Normally this is used by the user for creating joins. For example you can consider one example if you want to join two table like customer and order table. Now in the customer table the name of customer comes only once but in the order table the name of customer is repeated more than once because of the simple reason that one customer can place more than one order. In that case for joining these two table and finding the distinct record used the DISTINCTROW query

Re: What is the difference between Distinct and DistinctRow?