Go Back   TechArena Community > Software > Software Development
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Old 04-02-2010

What is the difference between Distinct and DistinctRow?

I am new to this database field of queries and started learning how to make the queries for retrieving the data from the table. I have also learned that there many way for getting the same kind of data. Now I having the problem with the types of queries that are
Select Distinct
And the other one is
Select Distinct Row
These two thing looks similar to me but there might be a difference in retrieving the data. If there is a difference between the two then can anybody tell me what is the actual difference between the two. I will be waiting for the related replies.
Old 04-02-2010

Re: Details of Distinct query

See I can explain you the meaning of the distinct queries. Distinct queries omits the fields that comprise of the duplication fields in the fields data which are selected by the user. If the user want the result of SELECT query to have the distinct field or the not repeated fields data then the user can use the select query with distinct option. Means if the user having the request for finding the result with the not repeated result then this requirement can be fulfilled with the help of this SELECT DISTINCT query.
Old 04-02-2010

Re: What is the difference between Distinct and DistinctRow?