Thread: What are the Meta Element in HTML?

What are the Meta Element in HTML?

I am very new to the HTML. I have done C and C++ programming languages. I have recently started doing some basic programs in HTML. Now I came to the new term (for me) Meta Elements. Can anyone explain me what are the Meta Element in HTML? Please provide me the useful information. Any other information related to the topic are warmly welcomed.!!
    ASUS P5VD1-X
    Intel Pentium Dual Core 3.00GHz
    Maxtor 160GB
    Corsair 1.5GB PC3200 RAM
    Nvidia Geforce 6800 GT 256mb
    Phillips DVD RW
    Magna 500W PSU
    XION II Steel Black Gaming Case

Re: What are the Meta Element in HTML?

Meta elements are HTML or XHTML elements used to provide structured metadata about a Web page. META is a general element for document meta-information -- that is, for information about the document that cannot be expressed by LINK, BASE or the other HEAD elements. Meta elements can be used to specify page description, keywords and any other metadata not provided through the other head elements and attributes. Meta tags have two possible attributes:
    • <META NAME="name" CONTENT="content">
    • <META HTTP-EQUIV="name" CONTENT="content">
    IF you hate me, please don't mention it. I know who hates me and who doesn't. You really do not have to make fun of people....

I would like to tell you that HTML also includes a meta element that goes inside the head element. The purpose of the meta element is to provide meta-information about the document. Normally the meta element is used to provide information that is relevant to browsers or search engines like describing the content of your document. The following meta element defines a description of your page:
    HTML Code:
    <meta name="description" content="Introduction on HTML, CSS, XML, and XHTML" />
    And the following meta element defines keywords for your page:
    HTML Code: