Go Back   TechArena Community > Software > Software Development
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Old 23-01-2010

How to Create Macro in VBA program?

I am new to VBA programming. I have to create a macro in VBA program. I want to create Macro so that I can do the basic stuff like inserting data, changing data etc. Also tell me that is there any way, where when i click it a box pops up asking questions about what data to input.? The main thing I want to ask is that how to create a macro in VBA program.?? Please help me as soon as possible.!

Old 23-01-2010

Re: How to Create Macro in VBA program?

If you want to create a Macro, you can follow the given steps :
  1. Go to the option Tools after opening the Visual Basic Editor. Then go to the Macro option in Tools. And then go to Visual Basic Editor. There is also a short cut key for this, you can press [Alt] and [F11] keys at the same time and can reach to the same place.
  2. On top of the Visual Basic Editor, you will find the Insert menu, click on that and select Module to open the Module window, where you write the codes.
  3. Now in the Module window, type the following code :
    Code:
    // Example of Hello World
    Sub showMessage()
        MsgBox "Hello World!"
    End Sub
  4. Then go to the Run Sub/UserForm to run the program or you can also press F5 for running the program.
  5. After doing this, the message box pops up with the "Hello World!" greeting.
Old 23-01-2010

Before creating a macro, you should be having knowledge about the Modules and Procedures. I have tried to explain you the Scope of the Modules and Procedures. A module is a container for procedures. Whereas the procedure is a unit of code enclosed between the Sub and End Sub statement. Also the procedure can be enclosed between Function and End Function statements. I have given an example of the procedure, that will print the current date and time on cell F5:
Code: