Thread: Want to delete the data using the ListView

Want to delete the data using the ListView

I am fairly new to the Visual Basic and I am stuck in a problem. I am not able to delete the data using the ListView. When I tried coding for that it is not working and I am not getting the desired output. I am made code that retrieves and inputs data into a table. Even I can update the data using the form on a ListView. But I am not getting the proper coding for deleting the data from the table using the delete button whilst having the row selected in the ListView. I am using the Visual Studio 2005. Hope that somebody can help me soon.!!
    Technology is a way of organizing the universe so that man doesn't have to experience it.-- Max Frisch 1911 -1991

Re: Want to delete the data using the ListView

Here is the code for deleting the data from the ListView. Using this code you can delete the whole row of the data. I have also included message box in the coding so that it will ask for the confirmation. Here is the code for deletion of data :
    Code:
    Sub BtnDeleteClick(sender As Object, e As EventArgs)
        Dim selItem As New ListViewItem
        Dim result As DialogResult

result = MessageBox.Show("Are you sure you want to delete the selected item(s)?", _
                                     "Delete", MessageBoxButtons.YesNo, MessageBoxIcon.Question)

If result = DialogResult.No Then
            MessageBox.Show("Delete action has been cancelled.", "Delete Cancelled", _
                MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Information)
        Else
            For Each selItem In listViewRec.SelectedItems
                selItem.Remove()
            Next
        End If
    End Sub
    If you select No after the confirmation asked, then the data will not get deleted. Clicking on Yes will delete the data. Hope that this code help you.

If you want to display and modify the data in the ListView control, you can follow the steps given below :