Thread: Java and database

Java and database

I'm developing a java application for my cousin who will be a psychologist. During the holidays, I was looking for subjects to learn because I'm not an expert in java, so I wanted to get ahead! My project is progressing slowly, normal, even when I started and then of course come back but not in a hurry.

I created a picture of the system, in order to arrange the person (patient). Until then I can create and initialize all in graph no problem it works. The trick of course is that once the program is closed, the table in memory is destroyed, so it will not re-open it and I thought making a "database" using a file!

For now, I use a .txt, I have my serialized class Person for the record, however, when the food that I can restore by typing the first line. Because that's the problem I have no way of knowing how many times I have to use the method "readObject ()" because at the beginning my program does not know how many people are registered in my text file!

Therefore I wonder if you have a solution, I eventually thought of using the system database, so a key like "ID" (Person 1, Person 2 ,....) where I would have an ID to each person who corresponds to its location in the table ...

You know what? How can I organize patient details in my text file?

Re: Java and database

MySql is a free RDBMS and efficient especially for simple databases. The program runs as a server providing multi-user access to a number of databases. You can even find a lot of tutorials and faqs about the DBMS/MySQL. MySQL works on many different system platforms, including BSDi, FreeBSD, Linux, Mac OS X, NetBSD, Novell NetWare, OpenBSD, OpenSolaris, IRIX, Solaris, Symbian, SunOS, and Microsoft Windows.