Thread: How to interpret a mathematical formula entered by user

How to interpret a mathematical formula entered by user

I'm just a beginner in Java but I do not lack any motivation, proof, I'll learn to master the best possible language. Currently, I lean on a program whose role is to interpret a mathematical formula input by the user (formula comprised of various functions applied to variables), using also the values entered by the user.

Example:

The user enters the formula y = 5x + 3 or y = ax + b (knowing that he knows the values of a and b). He wants the value of y for x = 3. So he tells the value of variables contained in formula. Finally, the program recognizes "the mathematical formula and applies the values of variables entered by user.

I do not know how to develop this program? For recognition of mathematical formulas, there is no class that can "recognize" a mathematical formula or "tracks" formula?

Re: How to interpret a mathematical formula entered by user

There are parsers of language (including mathematics). Look for example on the side of the library Antlr (go to antlr.org). Attention: it is powerful, but tricky to understand. As part of your exercise, the goal may be to recode yourself a "minimalist parser" meeting only the needed statement.

This seems the best approach because these parsers if I recode a minimalist parser, it will be huge because the user should be no limits on the performance of his susceptible capture. For example, there will be exponential root log of the division of two variables. What I mean is that level of recognition formulas, my program should be able to recognize the possible if not all. The parser would it not be more appropriate? I have not looked Antlr (I am familiar with Java)