Go Back   TechArena Community > Software > Software Development
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Old 22-09-2009

How to embed Javascript inside PHP script

I'm fairly new to PHP and i was writing a script in which i wanted to have some javascript included. Please let me know How would one call some JavaScript inside the <? and ?> tags used in PHP? Is this possible?
Old 22-09-2009

Re: How to embed Javascript inside PHP script

One of the lesser known sides of external JavaScript is the ability to reference a PHP file instead of the familiar .js file. I wouldn't use a NULL attribute at all, I'd use an isset() or !empty() function instead. I'd also adjust your <?php echo $var?> to simply adding a semi colon at the end of the variable.At first such an notion may seem strange, even impossible; after all, who among us isn't familiar with that barrier dividing server side and client side scripts that prohibit the two from interacting.

if (!isset...)
{ // not registered, use javascript to redirect
echo '<script type="text/javascript">'."\n";
echo '<!--'."\n";
echo 'location.href="http://localhost/restricted_resource.php"'."\n";
echo '// -->'."\n";
echo '</script>'."\n";
}
Old 22-09-2009

PHP script can then get to these parameters using the global variable $HTTP_GET_VARS[]. So you're probably wondering at this point: "So what's the catch?" it just wont work with the browsers im using. maybe that's the problem - try removing it from your code and see what happens. if I were to use an external JavaScript within the <? ?> tags of PHP, would I have to reffer to a JavaScript in the following format:

echo "<SCRIPT SRC="javascript.js"></SCRIPT>";

Well, there is no catch really, just a few limitations. Since we are invoking the PHP script indirectly and via JavaScript, the final output of the PHP script needs to be valid JavaScript.
Old 22-09-2009