Go Back   TechArena Community > Software > Software Development
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Old 09-06-2009

How to call event javascript onkeyup

Hi,
I am newbie in java world. I want to know how can I call a event javascript onkeyup. I want a basic idea of it. As I am not a advance programmer. I need to prepare something of my project work. For example I am trying to create a event which more likely related to currency converter. But I am confused with the syntax. It will be great if someone paste some examples also. Regards.
Old 09-06-2009

Re: How to call event javascript onkeyup

It is an event which works to define the actions performed while the key on the keyboard is released. Whenever the key in the keyboard is pressed and released the onekeyup is activated immediately. It is not an reserved word. So it is possible to configure your own variable and function. It is an quiet easy event. I posting the basic function which you can edit in your script. The example is :
Code:
 <input type="text" onkeyup="myFunction(this)">
Old 09-06-2009

The onekeyup event handler runs the specified JavaScript function at the time of key press event. It is runs at once when a use release the key from depressed position. The syntax for one key up is onKeyUp="ExampleText" and the parameter for that is ExampleText JavaScript code or a call to a JavaScript function. I am posting a basic example to give you a general idea about the event.
Sample of a script :
HTML Code:
<html>
<head>
<script type="text/javascript">
function upperCase(x)
{
var y=document.getElementById(x).value;
document.getElementById(x).value=y.toUpperCase();
}
</script>
</head>
<body>

Enter your name: <input type="text"
id="fname" onkeyup="upperCase(this.id)">

</body>
</html> 
Old 09-06-2009