Go Back   TechArena Community > Software > Software Development
Become a Member!
Forgot your username/password?
Tags Active Topics RSS Search Mark Forums Read

Old 07-02-2009

Create a script using Powershell

I am completely new to Powershell. I want to create a script which will output the disk usage for my hard drives to a single text file and also the CPU and memory usage.

I have no idea from where to start with the Powershell, it all looks really complicated! Can someone shed light on this or explain me how to proceed?
Old 07-02-2009

Re: Create a script using Powershell

For security reason MS has not associated ps1 extension with powershell instead it is associated with notepad. You may change that by making registry changes. In addition, by default the script won't be executed unless you issue command

Set-ExecutionPolicy Unrestricted

or sign your scripts. Read more about this by typing

get-help about_signing

in PowerShell.
Old 07-02-2009

Script Cmdlets are one of the coolest things about the newer version of PowerShell. A Script cmdlet allows you to use all of the variety of cmdlet parameter sets inside of PowerShell functions.

Since Script Cmdlets are PowerShell functions, and the PowerShell engine prefers to run functions rather than commands, you can use Script Cmdlets to override an existing cmdlet. You might want to do this to add or remove parameters from a cmdlet you use often. Also, you might just want to see what a cmdlet?s parameters look like in a script cmdlet, so you can go write your own.

Luckily, Powershell has a way to generate script cmdlets from an existing cmdlet. Below is a script cmdlet, called New-ScriptCmdlet, that I?ll use to create other script cmdlets.

You can use this to create new script cmdlets from existing cmdlets in a couple of different ways:

# Create a new PowerShell cmdlet from an existing cmdlet

Get-Command Get-Command | New-ScriptCmdlet Get-Command | Set-Content Get-Command.ps1