Thread: Extracting Data and Importing to Excel

Extracting Data and Importing to Excel

Hey... I'm a novice programmer. I guess that is expected as I am posting a question here! Haven't developed too much other than simple programs in college courses. I have some knowledge of PHP, Java, HTML, and SQL. I'm not necessarily looking for someone to do my work for me (although that would be sweet), I am willing to learn and understand the process myself, I just need some (or maybe a lot of) guidance.

What I need to do is come up with a solution that allows me to run a script that scans a series of IIS5 and IIS6 (W3C) logs, extracting bandwidth information only, converting those numbers into kilobytes (as the default values are bytes), and then import this bandwidth information into Excel.

Can anyone get me jump started on this? Where should I start with? What language(s) is best for the task? What should I research and look into in order to do make this happen?

Thanks

Jason

Does your output look like list of numbers. If so, look into the writedata command.

>?writedata

The line below will write the output (assuming it is a list of numbers, to a file called data.txt that you can open in excel and load. If the output is not a list of numbers, then you have to make it so. Post all of the code that you are using so that it is clear what you are trying to do.

>writedata(`c:\\temp\\data.txt`,soln3);

You could do this. First create a blank text file, eg cracker.txt, in a convenient directory, eg C:\Project\data, and then close this blank file.
    Next insert these commands in your worksheet after soln4:=

writedata[APPEND]("C:\\Project\\data\\cracker.txt",soln[2,1]);
    seq(writedata[APPEND]("C:\\Project\\data\\cracker.txt",soln||k[2,1]),k=1..4);