Thread: ASP or PHP is the question!

question ASP or PHP is the question!

Hello friends I am bit confused with programming languages Since i am a newbie it will be very helpful if you cleare my doubt with this.
    I am having trouble to decide which language should i learn first!
    ASP.net OR PHP?
    Will you guide me? Please!

Hello SagarP!
    Don't get confused! First get clear with the basic difference between these two things!
    First of all, do you know any other programming languages already? if you have experience with Visual Basic, you'll be able to easily pickup on ASP.
    Database
    Both ASP and PHP are languages used to build Dynamic Web sites that can interact with Databases and exchange information. ASP (Active Server Pages) is from Microsoft and is used with IIS (Internet Information Server) that runs on Microsoft Servers. PHP (Personal Home Pages) is from Rasmus Lerdorf. It runs on Unix and Linux servers and it also has an NT server version.
    Base Language
    PHP is based on C++ language and the syntax used in PHP is quite similar to C/C++. C/C++ is still considered the best programming language by many programmers and people who love this language would surely feel more comfortable with the syntax of PHP. ASP on the other hand has a more Visual Basic kind of syntax that again is closely related to only Microsoft products. So, it depends on a person-to-person which language he or she is comfortable.
    So the moral is if you are comfortable with C, C++ then go with PHP programming & if you are good at Visual Basic thing then go with ASP.

PHP would be best, its easyer to learn and you can have a PHP server for free but you can find some realy good tutorials for both PHP and ASP at http://www.tizag.com/
    P.S. I dont work 4 tizag or anything but it helped me learn both PHP and ASP

Lets evaluate some basic things Required on programming...
    Server or platform: