Thread: how to set up a small business network

how to set up a small business network

Hi All,

I'm very new to network but I'm very interested in learning how to setup a small business network.

What I have at the moment :

- 1 PC running windows 2003 as a domain controller and DNS, I install DHCP, Active Directory etc.

- 1 desktop and 2 Laptops running winxp pro(maybe more if I successfully configure!)

- Adsl 2+ modem router

What I would like to achieve are:
    - Connecting all pcs(desktop and laptops) to the server and allow the server remotely control all the pcs(maybe perform some updates, software configuration, etc)
    - Install MS outlook 2007 in all pcs connected and managed by the exchange server if possible.

However, I have no idea how to configure the server and other pcs. I have register a domain to use but I don't know how to use it during my network setup.

Since I'm really new to this area, I would like to get some help in achieving the goals mentioned above. Would anyone kindly give step by step directions?

Many many many thanks for your attention!!!!!!

Elvis

Re: how to set up a small business network

There are some set of manuals that are available online which you can use to configure or set the setup. It is not complicated but whatever you do it is recommended to go with new version only. That is the only best way to deal with issue. If you on technet there are ample of article available that would guide how to perform a setup. There are set of different ways to create your own small network and manage data transfer stuff.