TechArena Community

TechArena Community (http://forums.techarena.in/)
-   Software Development (http://forums.techarena.in/software-development/)
-   -   How to convert fractional inches into rounding numbers (http://forums.techarena.in/software-development/1206057.htm)

Rock Villa 01-07-2009 12:21 PM

How to convert fractional inches into rounding numbers
 
I design using fractional inches with a precision of 1/16th of an inch, but the problem is that i can't calculate that after 5 precision number, so i wanted to have something in hand that would give me the best possible answer, because when I dimension, I use fractional inches with the same precision. My work is checked occasionally with decimal inches with a precision of to (0.0000).

Mecurtis 01-07-2009 12:50 PM

Re: How to convert fractional inches into rounding numbers
 
I will suggest you to use the same format for your calculation as suggested above. Or else you may make use of any one of the scientific calculator.

=INT(A1)&"'--"&IF(INT(ROUND(MOD(A1,1)*12*4,0)/4)=
ROUND(MOD(A1,1)*12*4,0)/4,TEXT(ROUND(MOD(A1,1)*
12*4,0)/4,"#0\"""),TEXT(ROUND(MOD(A1,1)*12*4,0)/4,"# ?/?\"""))

BoardCalc is a Palm OS calculator which is specifically for woodworkers. It ?thinks? in fractions, feet and inches, board feet, or metric as needed. It does conversions between metric and imperial units, decimal and fractions, board feet and areas/volumes, and helps those of us who stumble a little.

RichiRich 01-07-2009 12:54 PM

Re: How to convert fractional inches into rounding numbers
 
Converting decimals into feet, inches and fractions of an inch, is a simple procedure and it can be applied to many different skill levels. The dimension precision corrects the display but not the underlying variation in actual distances. I run into this all the time with the others I work with. Most of them work in a pre-cad mode, using CAD as a means of pencil drafting on screen.I guess it is possible in a macro. It always seems inelegant to have to calculate something more than once. Their solution to most issues of this type is to override rather than repair the problem.


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:12 PM.