TechArena Community

TechArena Community (http://forums.techarena.in/)
-   Windows Software (http://forums.techarena.in/windows-software/)
-   -   Windows Vista startup to black screen with my documents window (http://forums.techarena.in/windows-software/1146105.htm)

Din_the1 23-03-2009 01:53 PM

Windows Vista startup to black screen with my documents window
 
Hello

Since today morning, I have a problem with my pc:

I'm in windows vista. When I'm lighter, I have a black screen with the "my document" that is open. There are no more desktop with icons, start menu over, I just my documents window, and I can navigate in without problem.

I still have internet, hence I downloaded the antivirus avast, he made an analysis, but the problem is still present... I try to make a system restore, but without the start menu I do not see how ....

If someone could help me ....

Thank you in advance!

Humberto 23-03-2009 01:56 PM

Re: Windows Vista startup to black screen with my documents window
 
Hello,
Have you tried booting in safe mode? try safe mode first and do system restore from safe mode. It can be the hardware related problem (Video card).

shahid khan 23-03-2009 01:59 PM

Re: Windows Vista startup to black screen with my documents window
 
Hi,
Did you edit any of your startup files in msconfig? Its possible that you have removed the explorer.exe from the startup, press Ctrl+R and Type msconfig and check the explorer.exe in startup tab. Hope this will solve problem .

Raiz 23-03-2009 02:01 PM

Re: Windows Vista startup to black screen with my documents window
 
Have a look at some similar threads they might help you:
http://forums.techarena.in/operating...ms/1107860.htm
http://forums.techarena.in/windows-v...ce/1087808.htm
http://forums.techarena.in/windows-v...ce/1026849.htm

Good luck

AZEqualizer 21-12-2009 10:46 PM

Re: Windows Vista startup to black screen with my documents window
 
One of the other causes maybe that the shell entry is damaged or appended. Click start and type 'regedit', then backup the registry
Next hit <enter>. Expand the branches to reach:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon

Locate the shell string in the right pane and double click it. Replace the
contents with just:

explorer.exe

Click ok to set the value, then close the registry editor. Restart the
system to see if it holds. If it doesn't, then you likely have some malware
that is damaging the entry.


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:47 PM.