|TheGreatOne ||12-03-2009 10:28 PM |
Re: Mozilla Firefox Safe Mode
How to know you're in Safe Mode Thunderbird
- All extensions will be disabled. You will still be able to select them in the Add-ons/Extensions list but only for the purpose of upgrading or uninstalling (the options button will be disabled).
- Default toolbar settings and controls will be used.
- Thunderbird will be using the default theme.
- A window called Firefox Safe Mode with some troubleshooting options appears.
At that point, you can either continue to Safe Mode or select some troubleshooting options and restart Firefox in normal mode to apply the changes.
If you choose to continue in Safe Mode:
- All extensions will be disabled (but this will not reset any Firefox preferences that some extensions may modify).
- Firefox will be using the default theme.
- Default toolbar settings and controls will be used .
If you choose any of the troubleshooting options, the changes are only applied if you choose Make Changes and Restart. Safe Mode window You now have three options:
- Clicking the Exit cancels your attempt to get into Firefox's Safe Mode.
- Clicking the Continue In Safe Mode starts Firefox in its Safe Mode. While you are in Safe Mode, your extensions and themes will be disabled, and any toolbar customizations will be reverted back to their defaults. These changes are not permanent - when you leave Safe Mode and start Firefox up normally, your extensions, themes, and settings will return to the state they were in before you entered Safe Mode.
- The Make Changes and Restart is only enabled if you select one of the boxes above it:
- Disable all add-ons: If you select this box and then click Make Changes and Restart then Firefox will start back up in its normal mode, except all your extensions and themes (but not plugins) will be disabled. (Not uninstalled.)
- Reset toolbars and controls: If you select this box and then click Make Changes and Restart then Firefox will start back up in its normal mode, except any toolbar customizations you have made will be lost, such as position of buttons and toolbars,
- Reset bookmarks to Firefox defaults: If you select this box and then click Make Changes and Restart then Firefox will delete your current bookmarks and replace them with its default set.
- Reset all user preferences to Firefox defaults: If you select this box and then click Make Changes and Restart then any changes you have made to Firefox's options will be set back to their default settings.
- Restore default search engines: If you select this box and then click Make Changes and Restart then any of the default search engines you deleted will be restored.
Exiting Safe Mode
- From the menu at the top of the Firefox windowbar, select FileFirefox and then select the ExitQuit FirefoxQuit menu item.
- Start Firefox as you normally would.
- If Firefox keeps starting in Safe Mode see Firefox is stuck in Safe Mode.