Thread: Changing speed of Cooling Fan in Toshiba Satellite L505D-S5965

Changing speed of Cooling Fan in Toshiba Satellite L505D-S5965

I have recently purchased the Toshiba Satellite L505D-S5965. I am very new to the Toshiba and so I am still learning the features of this laptop. I am wondering that why the CPU cooling fans speed changes from idle speed to a higher speed and vise versa. So is there some 'normal' cycle time for this to happen or it happens randomly. Before this I was using the Acer laptop and that was not showing me anything like this. Please clear my doubt with your replies.

Re: Changing speed of Cooling Fan in Toshiba Satellite L505D-S5965

I would like to tell you that speed of the fan that is called the RPM (revolution per minute) is completely temp driven and it is not having anything to do with the manufacturer of the laptop. If you want then you can check that if the SpeedStep otherwise the Cool 'n Quiet is working properly or not. This might be the culprit for this issue. So if it is having some problem then solve that accordingly and see if that helps you.

CPU cans spin to maintain the temperature of the system. As you use the system, it get heated and to control that temperature CPU fans spins with more rpm and if the temperature of the system goes down then it slows down fans rpm. This is just to avoid overheating. So, you need not to worry about this. Just continue with your work and let the fan to do its job of maintaining the temperature. I hope you will understand that why it is doing so.

There is also possibility that the fan is not installed properly in the case and for that reason you are getting this problem. If that is the case then it will force the CPU to run at full speed. So just remove the fan from your computer and after that install that over again. Make sure that it is fitted properly to its place otherwise you may get that problem again.