Thread: Unable to use Ubuntu 10.10 on my HP G62 Notebook

Unable to use Ubuntu 10.10 on my HP G62 Notebook

I set up Ubuntu 10.10 on my laptop G62 450er. But I cannot use because Wi-Fi card does not work. 'Ifconfig' shows only two interfaces 'eth0' and 'what'. Also 'lspci' gives the name of the card installed - 'Ralink 5390. I downloaded the authorized drivers but I cannot install and I cannot find in any manual. I have no experience in installing the drivers from the source to make use of the 'deb' packages. Here I cannot find the drivers in the "support and drivers section of my card. I cannot use Wi-Fi internet. Someone can help me?

Re: Unable to use Ubuntu 10.10 on my HP G62 Notebook

Sorry, but HP does not support their product for the reason that it does not sell a laptop with Ubuntu on it, that's why there are no drivers for Linux on the site. You will have to go the Ubuntu forums and find help there. I have tried unusual versions of Linux and I think I have always problems with wireless technology or something else. I blocked most of what matters to me. You know how most Linux forums will tell you that you do not need any antivirus software, etc., because they say Linux is not so sure. Well, look what is happening on the phone side, where Linux has a good market share with phones that use Android. There have been very few cases of viruses and malware is attacking Linux. Remember, everything that Linux security is security by insignificance. So when you get Ubuntu running, do not fail to remember to download the security software for Linux as well.