Thread: What is difference between Mac and PC for computer science?

What is difference between Mac and PC for computer science?

Hi I am a student. I want to take a degree in the field computer science so I want to go college and I want to obtain a computer. I am attempting to make a decision between two computers, the Alienware M14x and the 15" Macbook Pro.
    The specifications for the Alienware are given as below:

PROCESSOR Intel Core™ i5 2720QM 2.21GHz
    OPERATING SYSTEM Genuine Windows 7 professional, 64bit,

MEMORY 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1600MHz

VIDEO CARD 4.0GB DDR3 NVIDIA GeForce GT 555M utilizing NVIDIA Optimums™ technology

HARD DRIVE 750GB 7200RPM SATA 3Gb/s

LCD PANEL 15.0" High Definition+ (900p/1600x900) with WLED backlight

WIRELESS CARDS Intel Advanced-N WiFi Link 6205 a/g/n 2x2 MIMO Technology

INTERNAL OPTICAL DRIVE 8x SuperMulti DVD±R/RW Slot Load Optical Drive

SOUND OPTIONS Soundblaster X-Fi™ Hi Def Audio - Software Enabled

BLUETOOTH Internal Bluetooth 3.0.
    Specification for Macbook Pro 15"

2.2GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
    4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
    300GB Serial ATA Drive 7200 rpm
    SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    MacBook Pro 15-inch Glossy Widescreen Display
    Backlit Keyboard (English) and User's Guide
    Apple Care Protection Plan for MacBook Pro - Auto-enroll

Total cost (Student discount + 7% MS Tax) $2587.26
    Both of these computers have the similar processor. They mutually have the similar amount of memory, but the Alienware is 1600 MHz vs Mac 1333MHz. I want an hdd at 7200rpm and the Alienware has a 750 GB vs Mac 500GB. They both have the similar type of disc drive. The Mac only has 1 GB of video RAM even as the Alienware has 3 GB. I know that the Mac has minor specifications and is more costly, but I similar to how approximately every feature of OS X has a polished see to it, such as all of the icons are flat and look smooth.

Re: What is difference between Mac and PC for computer science?