Thread: Zen Xtra Nomad Jukebox suddenly not recognized by Windows XP Netbook

Zen Xtra Nomad Jukebox suddenly not recognized by Windows XP Netbook

I'm desperately struggling to get my Creative Zen Xtra Nomad Jukebox MP3 player (version 1.03.02) to be recognized by my computer. (My background is I'm about 4 hours south of my home, temporarily helping my wife who is slowly dying of cancer. I have two laptops with me, one with XP (and the other rarely used here with Vista.) My main computer, a Dell Desktop running XP, is back at home with most everything else as I live out of a suitcase and do the best I can enough said for my situation). About 3 weeks ago, I hooked my Creative mp3 player up to my MSI notebook, (windows xp and recently updated with all Microsoft updates) and noted that the MP3 player was not being recognized by the computer. When plugged into the USB, my computer gave a 'chirp' and would look for hardware for the player, but ultimately it couldn't find it. The DEVICE page of the SYSTEM menu had the Jukebox listed with the nefarious yellow question mark. Though I don't have a CD drive on this computer, I had a portable drive with most of my software with previous loaded software archived there, including the installation disc for my MP3 player; but none of the drivers or software that I loaded would make a difference. I download all sorts of drivers & firmware updates from the CREATIVE web site, nothing changed. I would remove all the creative software, reload, reload software, hook up the MP3 player, and it would recognize the Nomad player but have no way to incorporate drivers for its use. Even as I directed it to the original 'CD' copied onto my notebook’s desktop, my Windows XP with service pack 3 just couldn't do more than let me know that it couldn't quite recognize the player other than identifying what it was. I could uninstall the device, the drivers; all to no avail.

Re: Zen Xtra Nomad Jukebox suddenly not recognized by Windows XP Netbook