Thread: iMac Intel i5 vs iMac intel i7

iMac Intel i5 vs iMac intel i7

I am planning to buy a new 27" iMac, deciding between i5 and i7 quad core. I am an average user but I buy top of line processors for a specific model, I usually use to do some photoshop and some video editing and no gaming.The i5 and i7 quad processor are better investment. So if you are having any experience with this model please inform me. I know i5 does not have hyperthreading and besides minor speed bump.

Re: iMac Intel i5 vs iMac intel i7

I am not an technician expert but if you can afford the i7 I would suggest you to go for this. If the OS are applications in future take advantage of hyper threading then i7 will have this advantage. I am also having same doubt but I have decide to get i7 in the next month.If I am not making mistake the i7 in the mac is already old and running at relatively slow clock speed as compare to other computers. But as you said you did video editing or encoding then i7 will be much faster for this thing.Core i5 is based on four CPU intensive application feature in graphic and I think this would be worth paying 10 percent more for the i7 so that you will get 13% to 35% more CPU crunching power.

Apple is offering core i7 for small price and I will say you to get it. I am having intel core i7 and can run Modern Warfare 2 perfectly in full resolution having high graphics setting on a windows XP service pack 2 partition on my system. I do not know why some one would need a quadcore for regular use when he is not going to do massive video or audio editing, gaming. I mean because Modern Warfare runs smooth on my dual core machine. In long run you will get some extra milage out of it.