Thread: Problem with Philips DVD player 5.1 channel output.

Problem with Philips DVD player 5.1 channel output.

I am having a Philips DVP 5150 DVD player, and the speaker system of Philips SP120 5.1. But the problem is that when I am trying to play DVDs, rear speakers do not work properly or it will be precise to say that it does not work at all but the DVDs are marked as 5.1 Dolby Surround sound. The thing is that I am not having the idea whether it is the problem related to the speakers or my DVD player. I have also tried to change all the Audio Settings that are given with DVD player. Any reply for solving problem with Philips DVD player 5.1 channel output will be appreciated.

Re: Problem with Philips DVD player 5.1 channel output.

I have been using Philips DVD player for past four years and is working fine not even once it required any repairing, so I think you must have either run pirated DVD or your speaker connections must be loosen, do insert different DVDs and try it. The other option you can go for; if your DVD player is under warranty period is that call the customer support of Philips and them for the solution or the replacement of your device.

I have tried original DVDs (marked as Dolby Digital 5.1) and my speaker connections are also correct. But they never worked. May be problem with the DVDs audio encoding formats but I am not sure about it. My player is marked as DOLBY DIGITAL EX PRO LOGIC II. Could it be a problem with backward compatibility with older DOLBY DIGITAL format DVDs? About the guarantee period, yes it is under guarantee period and I have called them and they agreed to replace the product.