Thread: Garmin GPSmap 76 not acquiring satellites

Garmin GPSmap 76 not acquiring satellites

I have recently started using the Garmin GPSmap 76. The problem is that it is not acquiring satellites. Since, I am new to this GPSmap, I am not having entire idea about it. So thought that you guys may provide me useful information and would also try to fix my issue. Any other information related to the topic would be grateful. Hoping that someone will help me sooner.

Re: Garmin GPSmap 76 not acquiring satellites

I am having the identical problem? GPSmap76S was hung up demanding to AutoLocate. It just couldn’t find itself, and it just stopped working unexpectedly one day, while I was traveling. I spoke with Garmin about the problem, and they advised me of an ongoing predicament with WAAS. I was told that I should "Disable" WAAS, because the signal from the WAAS satellites had been tainted by the government, and Garmin had not yet put out a software update to address the problem, on the 76 units, anyway. Also said that an update "should" come out, in the future, however, no commitment or promise on that. Manifestly, once your unit hits one of the WAAS signals, it scrambles up the receiver in the GPS, because mine sure went crazy. The support chap also said that if this did not correct the problem, I might also want to try a "Master Reset". So here’s what happened.