Thread: Problems reinstalling Tiger on Macbook!!!! Hard Drive Dead?

Problems reinstalling Tiger on Macbook!!!! Hard Drive Dead?

I am new to the mac world and I have some problems. I installed Linux on my Macbook and I wanted then reinstalled Mac OS X Tiger. I changed my hard drive (160GB Hitachi purchased MacWay) with 60GB present in the Macbook when I bought it. No worries, he recognized immediately. It is therefore the 160GB hard drive. I insert the cd install mac and I run Disk Utility: strangely, it's my hard drive myself out with his name, description, capacity. I repair the disk, it displays in a bid: "Checking HFS Plus volume." then red text in the white "input file not found" and an error message pops up: Failed due to the Error: The underlying task reported a failure to close. Here is where I am, I'm desperate, I'm working on my mac. Tell me whether my HD is died..??

Re: Problems reinstalling Tiger on Macbook!!!! Hard Drive Dead?

Before you start installing the OS have you thought about creating a partition on your hard drive?? It must go into disk utility that is available on a DVD installation. I just made mine yesterday. By cons MacBooks are guaranteed a year but when is it the hard disk, it is a Seagate in my case. I bought a new one yesterday which is guaranteed 5 years, it is still not the same one sold in the original macbook?? If you think your hard drive is dead ... To recover your data the only solution is IMHO to call a repairman who can not recover your data or, alternatively buy an external hard drive enclosure and you will immediately set about the operation or not your hard drive.