Thread: NTFS formatted drive not working in MAC

NTFS formatted drive not working in MAC

I am a MAC book pro user which is running on MAC OS X 10.5. I am struggling with my new external hard drive which is Seagate Freeagent (500gb). It is NTFS formatted. The problem is that my Macbook can only read data from this drive and cant write on the drive. I think the partition has got corrupted due to which it is not allowing data to be written. I have a lot of data on the drive which i want to back-up before re-formatting the drive. Is there anyway in which i can reformat the drive without losing data? Please help

Re: NTFS formatted drive not working in MAC

MAC OS X does not recognize a NTFS formatted drive by default. Mac systems only recognize MAC HD formatted drive or drives which are formatted using FAT system. Therefore to access a NTFS formatted drive you will need a third party application to be installed. This application will act as a mediator between the MAC system and the External hard drive. NTFS-3G is one of the software which is available online which can be used on a MAC system to access an NTFS formatted drive.

Probably the hard drive is damaged and causing the problem. External hard drive are more prone to damages and hence are very unreliable. Check the hard drive by using disk utility tool. There are many diagnostic tools available online. Download one of the application which suits your interest best and run the diagnostic tool on the hard drive. The result of the tests will give the number of errors which the system faces while running the test. Some utilities also repair the errors if they are repairable. By using this tool you will be able to determine if the hard drive is faulty or not.
    In The Absence Of Light
    Darkness Prevail's