Thread: Which operating system is good for overclocking

Which operating system is good for overclocking

I am having an old system and I wanted to know if overclocking the same will hamper it or boost its performance. I am very new to overclocking and I don’t have much idea about the same but I have heard that overclocking helps in boosting computer performance. Currently I am running windows xp and I want to know if I will have to update it to windows 7 for overclocking the system?? My friends say that xp is not good for overclocking is it really so? If yes then which operating system is good for overclocking?? Is there anyone who can help me out with these queries??

Re: Which operating system is good for overclocking

I don’t think that, Overclocking is not concerned with the operating system you are using but it depends on the components that you are using like video card, processor and power supply. As far as harm is concerned, too much overclocking will definitely harm your computer but when done smartly, it will help in boosting the performance of your system. You can carry out overclocking on system running on windows xp, windows 7 as well as until they have the components that can be overclocked. Just let me know the components of your computer so that I can have a better idea of the same and will help you with the possible solution overclocking it.

You can use the below software’s for the overclocking purpose, they are the best ones:
    • CPUZ and GPUZ
    • AMD Overdrive
    • Intel Desktop Control Center
    • Motherboard tools
    • MemSet and CPU-Tweaker
    • SetFSB
    • Official graphics overclocking
    • Riva Tuner

My system specifications are as followed:
    Intel Core 2 quad 2.4 gghz
    2 gig ram
    onboard video and sound
    basic dvd burner
    500 gig hd
    I don’t have much idea about the software’s mentioned so can you explain me how I have to use them?? Further help regarding the same will be highly appreciated.