Thread: Need help overclocking AMD FX-8120 on ASRock 990FX Extreme3 AM3 motherboard

Need help overclocking AMD FX-8120 on ASRock 990FX Extreme3 AM3 motherboard

Hi guys

I need help on this just recently I have upgraded my machine and added the new mobo ASRock 990FX Extreme3 AM3 which AMD FX-8120, I am not that tech savvy s and have no idea how to overclock, at least ADM chip , I was using the Intel chip for the long time and have not familiar that much with the ADM CPU , . other day I was reading the article on the web that windows Is releasing the update that will make the CPU better , so should I go for the overclock or should I wait for that updated , if overclock is the better option then where do I start . is there anyone here who can help me on this as I have looked everywhere but not able to find the proper answer , I will be really appreciating this. thanks in advance

Re: Need help overclocking AMD FX-8120 on ASRock 990FX Extreme3 AM3 motherboard

The thing is the over clocking is depends on the type of cooler that you are using, just go the BIOS and after that just set the multiplier to 16x . turn the turbo and cool and quiet off . now press the F11 key and exit , this will help you to reach till about 3.8 GHz. If you are not satisfied the can you give me some additional information on what settings you are trying e to do the overclock ? do you using the multiplier, HT ref, or together? It would be nice if you can provide the screen shot . which model of ram are you using? And the settings and voltage etc too .