Thread: overclocking DELL XPS 420 to 3.1GHZ WITH VID-Vcore-Vdroop pencil volt mod set at 1.25V

overclocking DELL XPS 420 to 3.1GHZ WITH VID-Vcore-Vdroop pencil volt mod set at 1.25V

Hello friends, recently I bought a new Dell XPS 420 with intel Q6600 processor. And now I am planning to overclock my system but have some doubts regarding it. I just wanted to know whether it is possible to overclock this Q6600 processor beyond 3.1/3.2 GHz, if yes then how did you do the volt mod with VID-Vcore-Vdroop pencil. Can anyone help me out please; I am not an expert with computer hardware.

Heard that after we go beyond 3.1 GHz, there some kind of stability issue being faced in the machine is it true?

Re: overclocking DELL XPS 420 to 3.1GHZ WITH VID-Vcore-Vdroop pencil volt mod set at 1.25V

Yeah it did happened with me, had the same model and when I overclocked beyond 3.1GHz while approaching 350 FSB speeds, x9 mult. I actually used a RMClock in order to disable EIST and C1E and run Max performance.
    Also I am bought from 2.99 to 3.11 GHz on 2-PAG by SetFSB. Also my memset do not work properly as the MCHBAR is locked away. My configurations are:
    • PSU - Antec 750 watt modular
    • RAM - 4x1 GB 5-5-5-18 DDR2 RAM PC6400 which is running at 420 MHz
    • Processor – intel Core 2 Q6600

Is it possible for me to increase volts without creating any problem with vdroop if my VID is stable at 1.25 v via RMClock?

Re: overclocking DELL XPS 420 to 3.1GHZ WITH VID-Vcore-Vdroop pencil volt mod set at 1.25V

For your kind information, by using Core 2 series or any other later version we need not have to disable the Vdroop so therefore the only variable left for me was my VID. I recently did the VID 1.45 mod using the silver ink pen and other more electronical tape. Had a great experience, I guess I was supposed to put up more ink on it. I must say that it was really very thin though it doesn’t appear to be.