Thread: Overclocking AMD Athlon II X4 635 processor

Overclocking AMD Athlon II X4 635 processor

I have a AMD Athlon II X4 635 processor in my system. Other things in my PC are Hydro H60 CPU cooler, Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3 motherboard & XFX XPS-650W Power Supply. I want to try overclocking my processor for faster performance. Can anyone help me with overclocking process, It is my first time in overclocking?

Re: Overclocking AMD Athlon II X4 635 processor

The first thing you have to do before beginning overclocking is to find the FSB limit of your system. Once found you will need to increase it step by step. First increase it by value of 10. Keep increasing till the system remains atable. Once a stable point is found, progressively keep increasing it by 5 till it becomes stable. While doing this, see to it that the speed of CPU remains same as that of stock speed. For example, if my stock spoeed is 3.0 GHz, then the value of multi will be 15 and that od FSB will be 200. So when the value of FSB will be 210 then value of multi should be 14.5. Same logic wirks for HT, CPU NB Frequency, and the RAM timings, and ratio. Once your computer fails to boot up, it means that you have found the maximum value of FSB. Now you can begin overclocking your processor.

Using the punched settings of BIOS, put the values in the BIOS setup. The values which are set to ‘Auto’ by default should not be changed. Items with unlocked multiplier, do not change the values of FSB. The FSB won’t affect your system much. It will only be used when you are running some heavy or overloaded process in your system. There is a limit to every CPU, beyond which it cannot be overclocked. You have to acept it and shouldn’t try to go beyond it. Even if you succeed to go beyond the limit, the system might crash in such a way that recovering it will become hard. Also, it will cause unstabliltiy in your system.