Thread: Need help in overclocking ASUS Rampage II Extreme, Intel Core i7 960

Need help in overclocking ASUS Rampage II Extreme, Intel Core i7 960

I just bought this mobo with Intel Core i7 960and I am having problem in overclocking it . I am trying to reach to 4ghz but I am not able to do so as I have no experience about that because this is the first time I am using the Asus board before this I have gigabyte board which I am little comfortable with . So is there anyone here can help me on this I will be really appreciating this as I don’t want to toast my system by wrong workout

Here is my rig

ASUS Rampage II Extreme
    6GB Corsair Dominator-GT 2000MHz DDR3 RAM
    Intel Core i7 960
    Akasa Venom Voodoo CPU Cooler
    XFX Radeon HD6970 graphic card
    EZCool 1050w PSU

Thanks in advance

Re: Need help in overclocking ASUS Rampage II Extreme, Intel Core i7 960

Hey is it possible for you to tell me what max CPU multi for that chip and which auto is using on the Bios for the CPU Voltage and do you want to run CUP @ 4GHz and Ram @ 1600 MHz or even higher .

My first experience overclocking and I have a lot of questions and discoveries, I went through quite a few options for overclocking, but did not reach the desired result (4.4 GHz). My CPU is, as I understand from various articles that can do more, but I get the most 4.15GHz. Anybody will tell you that in the settings wrong? Or more to the die can not?
    Stable version (limit):
    Code:
    CPU Ratio Setting = 23; BCLK = 180; DRAM 1804MHz
    All other options do not work.
    UCLK = Auto; QPI Link Data Rate = Auto
    CPU Turbo Power Limit: Disabled
    C1E Support: Disabled
    Hardware Prefetcher: Enabled
    Adjacent Cache Line Prefetch: Enabled
    CPU TM Function: Disabled
    HT Technology: Enabled
    SpeedStep Tech: Disabled
    C-State Tech: Disabled
    CPU Spread Spectrum: Disabled