Thread: How to boot with higher FSB

How to boot with higher FSB

I must say that I am new in the world of overclocking. I calculated coeff x9 x FSB, saying that it must go! Well I will explain, I began (by reading tutorials) to understand the basics of overclocking and I began to apply it to my config (which was a good time, but I want to boost before the change)

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965G-DS4 bios F9i (latest beta bios, the problem arose even before!)
    CPU: Core2Duo E6600
    Memory: Kingston HyperX 2 x 1GB DDR2 PC6400 (800MHz) (unfortunately PC5300 recognized by cpuz but hey that's another problem we can solve in the bios)
    Graphics card: Asus EN8800GTX (that I can OC with RivaTuner)
    PSU: Antec NEO HE 550W

I just get a CPU cooler Noctua NH-U12P + SE2 a fan kit for Corsair Ram, short enough to start a small overclock for proper air-cooling!

The problem I encounter now is that I can not boot with FSB 400 type (even lowering the coeff to 6 x 400 = 2400MHz as origin), which would give me with 2.0 ratio for the memory turning to the normal frequency, ie DDR2 2 x 400 = 800 (assumed frequency of origin)

PC does not start, and requires a CMOS clear to leave! I once managed to boot with FSB 360, or 9 x 360 = 3240 MHz, CPU max temp 42 °C, memory 2 x 360 = 720 MHz

What should I do? Do I have to raise some voltages? Thing I've done: Vcore from 1.325 to 1.375 (even unsuccessfully tried 1.40V) and Ram voltage of 1.80V to 2.10V (2.20V tried also broken). I have already passed an address that I found with the correct FSB = 340 MHz so CPU = 3060 MHz memory 425 MHz but I think I can do much better!

I'm confused about the frequencies and voltages PCI-E. I selected frequency PCI-E 100

In short, how to successfully boot with a FSB higher? What is the point that block at startup, reboot it every 5 seconds! ==> Screwdriver to clear CMOS!

Re: How to boot with higher FSB

Fixed initially in your bios