Thread: Disc managment

Disc managment

Hi folks, been a long time fan/lurker and now I need your help. First off I'm a novice user so bear with me please. I updated to win 8.1 a while back and think there has been a change in my disc space etc. my issue is documented here [URL="http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows8_1-windows_install/after-upgrading-to-windows-81-i-see-4-identical/0880f37b-18f9-447a-a317-b20522b763ef"] (hope it's ok to post link) Now when I look in "disc management" I see this My thing is if I try run file/system restore I'm told there are no restore points and when I try create one I get "insufficient storage available to create a shadow copy or other shadow copy data error" Can anyone point me in the right direction as to what to do please????

Re: Disc managment

The fix for the error that you are getting is to backup the C partition without the -allCritical option: wbAdmin start backup -backupTarget:E: -include:C:

Quote Originally Posted by einstein_007 View Post
    The fix for the error that you are getting is to backup the C partition without the -allCritical option: wbAdmin start backup -backupTarget:E: -include:C:
    Cheers for the quick reply einstein but unlike you I'm a novice as I said
    I've done a full system back up to an external HD, is that what you mean? When I checked "my computer" today it has another partition or drive (don't know the proper name sorry) beside my (C) drive called Winretools (F) which has a recovery file folder in it

The problem that you are facing could be because the Volume Shadow Copy service and SPP services are not started. To restart the Volume Shadow Copy service and SPP services, follow the below steps:
    1. Open Administrative Tools by clicking the Start button, clicking Control Panel, clicking System and Maintenance, and then clicking Administrative Tools.