Thread: Installing GUI on Debian 6.03 KDE from a CDR

Installing GUI on Debian 6.03 KDE from a CDR

I borrowed a Debian 6.03 disc from one of my friend. I want to to install it on my computer but the problem am facing is that the installer won’t start at all. Whenever I try to install, it just install the basic command line. I don’t get the GUI there. As this is my first attempt for installing debian or linux, i dont have much idea about the same. I don’t know what I need now to install the GUI. Do anyone know how to install the KDE from the disc? Please help

Re: Installing GUI on Debian 6.03 KDE from a CDR

Before installing the GUI on Debian, you have to make sure that the Apt configured correctly. Now you can install it directly from the packages off of the cd or straight from the net but use the internet connection only if it is fast enough. After this, next installation step is for the X-window system. Use "apt-get install x-window-system" in order to install the whole thing you need. Final step is about installing a window manager or desktop environment. Gnome or KDE is a beginner choice but you can try some other also which are very light only if you want them.

Once completed, reboot the system and you will see a graphical login. If you don’t get it and if you still see a command prompt for login, just "startx" which will automatically brings up the GUI window. You don’t have to worry about since you are clearly installing it from the CD. You will most of the basic packages from the CD, you should only use “apt” command to configure them. If there is a fast internet connection, then the installation and update will be more powerful.

I know about the Debian graphics installer, usually the regular CD images contain an option to boot into graphical installer using installgui command. Other than this there is also a small iso image file which is about 10MB will allow you to boot the graphical installer. It usually used in terms of testing/debugging.