Thread: cant logon to novell shares and NAS boxes after upgrading to Mac OS X Lion

cant logon to novell shares and NAS boxes after upgrading to Mac OS X Lion

Can anyone tell me why I am unable to login to novell shares and NAS boxes on my Mac system. I have tried my best to login to these things but everytime it fails. However the only thing I know about this issue is that the problem started after I upgraded to Mac OS X Lion. Before the update everything was fine. I am not a technical expert so therefore I am unable to explain you anything in detail about this issue. Anyways please help me out and let meknow what should be done in order to get rid of this issue. Its an emergency so please help me as soon as possible.

Re: cant logon to novell shares and NAS boxes after upgrading to Mac OS X Lion

There’s nothing much to worry about this issue. There are some sensitive and technical task that you need to do in order to get rid of the issue and get yourself login to those apps. So have patience and concerntarte on the following commands and instruction and make sure that you do as exactly instructed to you and do not try to apply your own brain as you have already agreed that you are not an technical expert.

Before stating the commands let me tell you that CR/NL characters are stricktly not at all allowed in the command line so therefore make sure, while you use the text editor for the commands you delete format the inserted CR/NL-characters.

• For loging in to Novell share and NAS boxes use the following command in the text editor:

sudo -s
    chmod o+w /Library/Preferences
    defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_host_prefs_version -int 1
    ! Restart

• Now if in case you have ever tried to make changes or modify your AppleShareClient parameters then you can surely go for the trying out the following command:

sudo -s
    chmod o+w /Library/Preferences
    cd /Library/Preferences/
    rm com.apple.AppleShareClient.plist*